David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science

The Cheriton School of Computer Science is named for David R. Cheriton, who earned his PhD in Computer Science at the University of Waterloo in 1978. In 2005, Professor Cheriton made a transformational gift to the school that supports named chairs, faculty fellowships, and graduate scholarships.

Discover our latest achievements by following our news. Upcoming talks on a range of computer science topics are found under events.
Please go to contact, open positions or visit if you have a question about school programs or services, would like to know more about faculty positions available or plan to visit our school.


University of Waterloo Professor Gautam Kamath, along with his colleagues Professor Clément Canonne at the University of Sydney and Thomas Steinke, a Research Scientist at Google DeepMind, have been awarded the 2024 Caspar Bowden Award for Outstanding Research in Privacy Enhancing Technologies. The prestigious recognition was given to the team for their paper, “The Discrete Gaussian for Differential Privacy,” research that was presented initially at NeurIPS 2020 and published in the Journal of Privacy and Confidentiality.

The evolution of the Cybersecurity and Privacy Institute (CPI) at the University of Waterloo started under the leadership of an individual who strongly believed in the advancement of research in the areas of data security and privacy. In 2018, he was appointed the inaugural executive director of CPI and was at the forefront of the institute for about three and half years. During his tenure, he took the initial concept of CPI and expanded its eminence by steering the team to achieve the following pivotal establishments: the National Cybersecurity Consortium (NCC), the Chippie Cluster, and CPI’s Excellence Graduate Scholarship.