International, national, provincial and institutional awards and recognitions

Our faculty members have received many international, national, provincial and institutional awards and recognitions for their research, teaching and service excellence. Where available, names are linked to articles and announcements that provide further detail about the individual’s prestigious achievement.

International awards and recognitions

Distinguished Members/Scientists of the Association for Computing Machinery Jo Atlee, Charles Clarke, Don CowanMark GiesbrechtIan GoldbergIhab IlyasFlorian Kerschbaum, Anna LubiwKenneth SalemJeffrey Shallit

Distinguished Visiting Professor at Tsinghua University — M. Tamer Özsu

Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science — M. Tamer Özsu

Fellows of the Association for Computing Machinery N. Asokan, Srinivasan Keshav, Ihab Ilyas, Ming Li, J. Ian Munro, M. Tamer Özsu, Frank Tompa

Fellows of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence Peter van Beek

Fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers — N. Asokan, Raouf Boutaba, J. Alan George, Ming Li, M. Tamer Özsu, Srinivasan Keshav

Fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics — J. Alan George

Member of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters — Jeffrey Shallit

Grand Cross of Scientific Merit, Brazilian National Order of Scientific Merit — Don Cowan

Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Research Fellowship — Janusz (John) Brzozowski

Medal of Merit, Catholic University of Lublin, Poland — Janusz (John) Brzozowski

Member of the Turkish Academy of Science — M. Tamer Özsu

Whos Who Legal, Leading Individual in CanadaMaura Grossman (2018)

Whos Who Legal, National and Global eDiscovery Leader — Maura Grossman (2019)

National awards and recognitions

Canada Centennial Medal — J. Wesley Graham

Canada Research Chairs, Tier 1, current — Ian GoldbergMing Li, J. Ian Munro

Canada Research Chairs, Tier 1, previous — Srinivasan Keshav, Justin Wan

CANARIE IWAY Award for New Technology — Stephen Watt

CIFAR AI Chair — Shai Ben-DavidPascal Poupart, Yaoliang Yu

CIFAR Fellow — John Watrous

E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship Ming Li

Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada — Raouf Boutaba, Richard Cleve, J. Alan George, Srinivasan Keshav, Ming Li, J. Ian Munro, M. Tamer Özsu, Douglas Stinson

Governor Generals 125th Anniversary of the Confederation of Canada Medal — J. Alan George

Killam Prize — Ming Li

Killam Research Fellow — Ming Li

Lifetime Achievement Award, Canadian Artificial Intelligence Association — Robin Cohen

Lifetime Achievement Award in Computer Science, CS-Can/Info-Can — Janusz (John) BrzozowskiDon Cowan, W. Morven GentlemanAlan George, J. Wesley GrahamRic Holt, Ming LiJ. Ian MunroM. Tamer Özsu, Frank Tompa

NSERC Synergy R&D Partnership Award — Keith Geddes, Mark Giesbrecht, George Labahn, Arne Storjohann, Stephen Watt, Frank Tompa, Johnny Wong

Order of Canada — J. Wesley Graham

Outstanding Young Computer Science Researcher Award, CS-Can/Info-Can Ian Goldberg, Florian KerschbaumKate Larson, Lap Chi LauOndřej LhotákBin Ma, Mei NagappanÉric SchostDaniel Vogel

Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal — Frank Tompa

Provincial awards and recognitions — Ontario

Early Researcher Awardees — Ashraf Aboulnaga, Eric BlaisDan Brown, Ian Goldberg, Ihab Iyas, Kate Larson, Ondřej Lhoták, Bin Ma, Pascal Poupart, Arne Storjohann, David Toman, Olga Veksler, Daniel Vogel

Premier Research Awardees, an earlier version of the ERA — Raouf Boutaba, Timothy Chan, Brendan Frey

Institutional awards and recognitions — University of Waterloo

Distinguished Teacher AwardRobin Cohen

University Professors — Ming Li, J. Ian Munro, M. Tamer Özsu, Doug Stinson

University Research Chairs, current — Shai Ben-David, Raouf Boutaba, Ian Goldberg, Lila Kari, Kate Larson

University Research Chairs, previous — Timothy Chan, Bin Ma, M. Tamer Özsu, Doug Stinson