Goldberg Awarded University Research Chair

Tuesday, November 27, 2012
Professor Ian Goldberg of the School's Cryptography, Security and Privacy
research group, has been named a University Research Chair for  seven
years from 2012 to 2019.  Waterloo recognizes exceptional achievement and
pre-eminence in a particular field of knowledge with this designation.
Prof. Goldberg, who joined the School in 2006, is a renowned researcher
in this area, whose research allows people in real-world scenarios to
protect their privacy as they engage in their online lives.  He received
the Outstanding Young Computer Science Researcher Award from the Canadian
Association for Computer Science in 2012, and an Early Researcher Award
from the Province of Ontario in 2010.
Prof. Goldberg joins a long list of Cheriton School professors to receive
the University Research Chair designation: Bin Ma has been a University
Research Chair since 2008.  Prof. Tamer Özsu held the designation from
2004 to 2011, and both Prof. Timothy Chan and Prof. Doug Stinson held the
designation from 2005 to 2012.