Manuela Veloso

Carnegie Mellon University

Multi-Robot Intelligence
Abstract: Robots are physical artifacts with a seamless integration of perception, cognition, and action. My presentation will be focused on teams of intelligent autonomous robots performing tasks in highly uncertain domains. Robots need to jointly assess the state of their environment, communicate with each other, make decisions, execute actions towards the achievement of team objectives, and learn from observation and demonstration. 

Biography: Manuela M. Veloso is the Herbert A. Simon Professor of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University, researching artificial intelligence and robotics. She focuses on planning, control learning, and execution algorithms for single and multirobot systems, in particular in uncertain, dynamic, and adversarial environments. With her students, Veloso has developed teams of robot soccer agents, which have successfully participated in international RoboCup competitions since 1997.

Veloso holds a BS in electrical engineering and an MSc in electrical and computer engineering from the Instituto Superior Tecnico in Lisbon. She earned her PhD in computer science from Carnegie Mellon University. She is a fellow of the American Association of Artificial Intelligence and vice president of the RoboCup International Federation. She was awarded a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation and the Allen Newell Medal for Excellence in Research and is the program chair of the 2007 International Joint Conference on Artificial Intelligence. Veloso is the author of Planning and Learning by Analogical Reasoning (Springer-Verlag, 1994), has edited several books, and has published more than 150 journal articles and conference papers.

Quick Links

2012-2013 DLS

  • Zvi Galil
  • Hector Levesque
  • Jennifer Chayes
  • Renée Miller
  • Maneesh Agrawala
  • David Eppstein

2011-2012 DLS

  • Bruno Buchberger
  • Saul Greenberg
  • Ed Lazowska
  • Jeannette Wing
  • Cynthia Dwork

2010-2011 DLS

  • Stuart Feldman
  • Madhu Sudan
  • Susan Landau
  • Gilles Brassard
  • Joe Marks
  • Jon Kleinberg

2009-2010 DLS

  • Andy Yao
  • Paul Van Oorschot
  • Shafi Goldwasser
  • Adi Shamir
  • Fran Allen

2008-2009 DLS

  • Alan Kay
  • Eric Brewer
  • Anne Condon
  • Nancy Leveson
  • Tom Furness

2007-2008 DLS

  • David Patterson
  • Manuela Veloso
  • David D. Clark
  • Christos Papadimitriou

2006-2007 DLS

  • Kurt Mehlhorn
  • Ben Shneiderman
  • Barbara Liskov
  • Vint Cerf

2005-2006 DLS

  • Umesh Vazirani
  • Stephen Cook
  • Andrew Tanenbaum
  • Andries van Dam

2004-2005 DLS

  • Alfred Aho
  • Brian Kernighan
  • Jim Gray
  • Barbara Grosz
  • Jim Mitchell