Marsland Fellowship in Information Technology

The Marsland Fellowship in Information Technology provides a visible, enduring legacy for the Marsland family’s support of information technology at the University of Waterloo. The fellowship also provides a key element in supporting the expansion of the David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science.

Current Marsland Fellow


Jeffrey Shallit

photo of Professor Jeffrey ShallitJeffrey Shallit is a professor in the School of Computer Science in the Faculty of Mathematics, where he has taught since 1990. He received an AB in mathematics from Princeton in 1979 and a Ph.D. from Berkeley in mathematics in 1983, and has taught previously at the University of Chicago and Dartmouth College.

He has written or co-written approximately 300 articles for the peer-reviewed mathematics and science literature on number theory, automata theory, combinatorics, combinatorics on words, theory of computation, algorithms, algebra, and the history of mathematics. He has also written or co-written five books, published by MIT Press and Cambridge University Press.

He was elected as a foreign member of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters in 2020, and named as an ACM Distinguished Scientist in 2008.

Previous Marsland Fellows

Marsland Fellow Year
Éric Schost 2020–23
Yuying Li 2017–20
Timothy Chan 2016–17
Ondřej Lhoták 2013–16
Jeffrey Shallit 2010–13
Gord Cormack 2007–10
George Labahn 2004–07 
Ian Munro 2000–03