Raouf Boutaba named a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering

Thursday, June 4, 2015

David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science Professor Raouf Boutaba has been inducted as a Fellow to the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE). 

Election to the CAE is one of the highest professional honours accorded an engineer. Fellows have distinguished themselves in different sectors including business, academia and government and in different roles such as business management, executive management, technical, and university faculty. Fellow of the CAE are nominated and elected by their peers (current CAE Fellows) to honorary fellowship in the academy in view of their distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering profession. Candidates must have made substantial contributions to engineering with a significant impact in one of the following areas:

  • Significant contributions to the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology or engineering knowledge.
  • Significant contribution to the art and practice of engineering.
  • Significant contributions to the development of organizations which are based on engineering knowledge.

Professor Boutaba was inducted alongside 49 other engineers at a ceremony in Hamilton, Ontario, in conjunction with the CAE’s Annual General Meeting and Symposium.

An excerpt from a news release from the CAE states "Professor Raouf Boutaba is an internationally recognized authority and leading researcher in the management of communication networks and services. He is particularly known for his pioneering contributions to automated and policy-based network management, which opened new exciting possibilities toward self-managing networks and autonomic computing, and for his ground breaking work on network virtualization as a foundation for the future Internet architecture. His research work is published, with high impact, in top-tier IEEE journals and conferences, and received several Best Paper Awards and other national and international recognitions. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and the Engineering Institute of Canada, and the recipient of the 2014 McNaughton Gold Medal."