Research points of contact

The Computer Science Computing Facility (CSCF) research and special projects group has assigned a Point of Contact (PoC) for every researcher (faculty member or graduate student) who has subscribed to CSCF research support. You may obtain all your computing support through your Point of Contact.

If you are unable to reach your PoC within whatever timeframe you require based on the urgency of your request, or if you do not subscribe to research support, or even if you're not sure who to call, you are welcome to contact the CSCF help desk at ext. 31100, or the group manager, Lawrence Folland at 226 218 1822. They will assist you in getting in touch with your PoC or assigning someone else to address the issue. The following people are located in Davis Centre (DC).

The points of contact for research support are:

Name Phone Room Email
Lawrence Folland ext. 32214 DC 2563 lfolland
Mike Gore ext. 36205 DC 2565 magore
Lori Paniak ext. 34679 DC 2622 ldpaniak
Harsh Roghelia   DC 2611 hkroghel

Your Point of Contact

Research groups are a assigned a specific Point of Contact or, as we like to refer to them, their IT Concierge.  Here is a list of the assignments as of May 2021.  In general, new faculty will be assigned the Point of Contact most aligned with their area of research.

Mike Gore (magore):

Algorithms and Complexity (Paulo Alencar, Shalev Ben-David, Dan Berry, Therese Biedl, Eric Blais, Forbes Burkowski, Jonathan Buss, Lila Kari, Lap Chi Lau, Anna Lubiw, Naomi Nishimura, Rafael Oliveira, Prabhakar Ragde, Jeff Shallit)

Artificial Intelligence (AI) (Shai Ben David, Wenhu Chen, Robin Cohen, Gautam Kamath, Kate Larson, Richard Mann, Pascal Poupart, Peter Van Beek, Yaoling Yu)

Bioinformatics (Dan Brown, Ming Li, Bin Ma, m160 cluster)

Computer Graphics Lab (CGL) (Craig Kaplan, Stephen Mann)

Computer Systems Group (CSG) (Don Cowan)

Data Structures (Ian Munro)

Health Informatics (CHIL)  (Jesse Hoey, Daytona cluster)

Institute for Quantum Computing (Richard Cleve, John Watrous)

Scientific Computation Group (SciCom) (Christopher Batty, Peter Forsyth, Kimon Fountoulakis, Toshiya Hachisuka, Yuying Li, Jeff Orchard, Justin Wan)

Software Analytics Group (SWAG) (Michael Godfrey, Shane McIntosh, Mei Nagappan, Chengnian Sun)

Symbolic Computation Group (SCG) (Mark Giesbrecht, George Labahn, Eric Schost, Arne Storjohann, Stephen Watt)

Vision Lab (Yuri Boykov, Olga Veksler)

Lori Paniak (ldpaniak):

Cryptography, Security and Privacy (CrySP) (Yousra Aafer, N. Asokan, Diogo Barradas, Ian Goldberg, Sergey Gorbunov, Urs Hengartner, Mohammad Hajiabadi, Ian McKillop, Florian Kerschbaum, Douglas Stebila, Doug Stinson, Meng Xu, RIPPLE cluster)

Games Institute (Chrysanne DiMarco, Neil Randall)

Ghost Cluster (Lukasz Golab)

Programming Language Group (PLG) / Information Retrieval (IR) (Peter Buhr, Charlie Clarke, Gord Cormack, Maura Grossman, Ondrej Lhotak, Gregor Richards, Olga Vechtomova, Yizhou Zhang)

Shoshin (Paul Ward, Bernard Wong)

Systems and Networking (Omid Abari, Samer Al-Kiswany, Tim Brecht, Trevor Brown, Martin Karsten, Keshav, Ali Mashtizadeh, SYN Cluster)

Harsh Roghelia (hkroghel):

Data Systems Group (DSG) (Khuzaima Daudjee, Ihab Ilyas, Lukasz Golab, Xi He, Jimmy Lin, Tamer Ozsu, Ken Salem, Semih Salihoglu, Mark Smucker, David Toman, Frank Tompa, Grant Weddell, Tembo cluster)

Human-Computer Interaction (HCI) (Ed Lank, Edith Law, Dan Vogel, Jian Zhao)

Natural Phenomena Simulation Group (NPSG) (Gladimir Baranoski)

Raouf Boutaba / Canarie research project (Raouf Boutaba)

Waterloo Formal Methods (Watform) (Joanne Atlee, Nancy Day, Vijay Ganesh, Arie Gurfinkel, Patrick Lam, Derek Rayside, Richard Trefler)

In general, the faculty listed, their grad students, post-docs and research visitors will contact the listed Point of Contact for most issues.  You may also contact Lawrence (lfolland) as a backup.    Your Point of Contact may be able to solve the issue or pass it along to someone else who can.