A Chronology of Computing at The University of Waterloo

This chronology of the Department of Computer Science, later the School of Computer Science, was written by Harold Alkema and Kenneth McLaughlin. The research was sponsored by the J.W. Graham Information Technology Trust and is part of an ongoing series of publications and oral history interviews relating to the development of computing at the University of Waterloo.

Usage Notes

Click on the links to see each decade. Individual years will be listed. If you would like to see the entire document in a printable format, click on the "Printable" link.

For a comprehensive list of terms, research groups, companies, etc, click on the "Glossary". Note this is a large (>5MB) PDF file.


Translation to the web: Lawrence Folland
Editing: Daniel Heidt