David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science



The University of Waterloo's David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science is the largest academic concentration of computer science researchers in Canada. We have more than 100 faculty members, 60 administrative, instructional and technical staff, 4,000 undergraduate students and 475 graduate students.

Our CS research areas

- Algorithms and complexity
- Artificial intelligence and machine learning
- Bioinformatics
- Computer algebra and symbolic computation
- Computer graphics
- Cryptography, security, and privacy
- Data systems

- Formal methods
- Health informatics
- Human-computer interaction
- Programming languages
- Quantum computing
- Scientific computation
- Software engineering
- Systems and networking • Theoretical neuroscience



Sepehr Assadi Algorithmic graph theory, communication complexity, online algorithms, algorithmic game theory

Pengyu Nie

verification

ML and NLP for software

engineering, software

testing and formal



Our new faculty members Sihang Liu

Computer architecture, programming and system support for new and emerging architectures



Yang Lu ML and statistical methods for genomics and proteomics data analysis



Sujaya Maiyya Distributed data management, fault tolerance, data privacy and security

Hong Zhang

Large-scale data analytics, distributed ML training and serving systems, application and network scheduling, data centre networking, serverless computing and cloud computing

Cheriton School of Computer Science, top-ranked CS program in Canada for third year in a row Maclean's 2023 University Rankings

Cheriton School of Computer Science, 22nd CS program internationally 2022 Quacquarelli Symonds World University Subject Rankings

Robin Cohen Lifetime Achievement Award in Computer Science, CS-Can | Info-Can

Jimmy Lin ACM Fellow

Wenhu Chen, Xi He, Gautam Kamath Canada CIFAR AI Chairs

Sepehr Assadi Sloan Research Fellowship

Distinguished Professor Emeritus Don Cowan J.W. Graham Medal in Innovation and Computing

Our highlights

Charles Clarke, Jimmy Lin Induction into ACM SIGIR Academy

Jo Atlee, ECE colleague Krzysztof Czarnecki, former students 10-year most influential paper award, VaMoS 2023

Daniel Berry, Sri Fatimah Tjong Most influential paper award, REFSQ 2023

Jeremy Chen, Yuqing Huang, Mushi Wang, Semih Salihoğlu, Kenneth Salem Best Experiment, Analysis and Benchmark Paper

Award, VLDB 2022 • 2022 ACM SIGMOD Research Highlight Award

Ende Jin, Yizhou Zhang, Harvard colleague Nada Amin Distinguished paper award, PLDI 2023

Stacey Watson, Rochester Institute of Technology colleagues Best paper award, MobileHCI 2022

Ryusuke Sugimoto, Christopher Batty, Toshiya Hachisuka Best paper award, SCA 2022

Niki Hasrati, Shai Ben-David Best paper award, ALT 2023

Nikhita Joshi, Antony Albert Raj Irudayaraj, Jeremy Hartmann, Daniel Vogel Best paper award, SUI 2022

Muhammad Sulaiman, Mahdieh Ahmadi, Mohammad A. Salahuddin, Raouf Boutaba, Rogers colleague Aladdin Saleh Best paper award, NOMS 2023

Lindsey Tulloch, Ian Goldberg Best student paper award, PETS 2023

Ramazan Rakhmatullin, Andrew Qi Tang, Kevin Wan

First place, 2023 International Collegiate Programming Contest North America Championship

200 University Avenue West • Waterloo, ON, Canada N2L 3G1 • cs.uwaterloo.ca



FACULTY OF MATHEMATICS DAVID R. CHERITON SCHOOL OF COMPUTER SCIENCE

Shlomi Steinberg Computer graphics,



rendering and light transport, ray and wave optics

David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science • University of Waterloo