

The University of Waterloo's David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science is the largest academic concentration of computer science researchers in Canada. We have more than 100 faculty members, 60 administrative, instructional and technical staff, 4,000 undergraduate students and 400 graduate students.

Research Areas

- Algorithms and complexity
- Artificial intelligence
- Bioinformatics
- Computer algebra and symbolic computation
- Computer graphics
- Cryptography, security, and privacy
- Data systems
- Formal methods

- Health informatics
- Human computer interaction
- Machine learning
- Programming languages
- Quantum computing
- Scientific computation
- Software engineering
- Systems and networking
- Theoretical neuroscience

New faculty members



Diogo Barradas Censorship-resistant communication



Wenhu Chen Natural language processing, deep learning, knowledge representation and reasoning



Mohammad Hajiabadi Theoretical cryptography



Meng Xu
System and software security

Highlights

Cheriton School of Computer Science, top CS program in Canada based on program and research reputation

Maclean's 2021 University Rankings

23rd computer science program in the world

2021 Quacquarelli Symonds World University Subject Rankings

Ihab Ilya:

2020 ACM Fellow for contributions to data cleaning and data integration

Ming L

2020 Lifetime Achievement Award in Computer Science, CS-Can I Info-Can

Mei Nagappar

2020 Outstanding Early Career Researcher Award, CS-Can I Info-Can

M. Tamer Özsu

2022 IEEE Innovation in Societal Infrastructure Award

Eric Blai

Ontario Early Researcher Award

Jeffrev Shalli

Elected to Finnish Academy of Science and Letters

Sergey Gorbunov

Raises \$3.75 million USD for Axelar, his blockchain start-up, secures \$25 million USD in Series A funding

Shalev Ben-David and Eric Blais

Best Paper Award, FOCS 2020 Work extends Yao's minimax theorem

N. Asokan, Jian Liu, Wenting Li,

2019 Best Paper Award, IEEE Transactions on Computers

Ahmed Alguraan

2021 IBM PhD Fellowship, one of 16 recipients internationally

Mike Schaekermann

2020 Distinguished Dissertation Award, CS-Can | Info-Can

Abbas Abou Daya, Mohammad A. Salahuddii Noura Limam and Raouf Boutaba

2021 IEEE CNOM Best Paper Award

Iman Akbari with Mohammad A. Salahuddin Leni Ven, Noura Limam, Raouf Boutaba, Bertrand Mathieu, Stephanie Moteau and Stephane Tuffin

ACM SIGMETRICS 2021 Kenneth C. Sevcik Outstanding Student Paper Award

Peter Forsyth with Ken Vetzal and Graham Westmacott

2021 Brockett-Shapiro Actuarial Journal Award

Ildar Gainullin, Jason Yuen and Wesley Leung

2021 ICPC North America Division Champions, will advance to 45th ICPC World Finals

David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science • University of Waterloo 200 University Avenue West • Waterloo, ON, Canada N2L 3G1 • cs.uwaterloo.ca

