

ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS

June 12, 2019 | 4:15 p.m. | Davis Centre, 1301 | Refreshments to be served

MAURA GROSSMAN

Named a Leading Individual in Canada by *Who's Who Legal 2018* for Contributions to eDiscovery

SRINIVASAN KESHAV

Named Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

M. TAMER ÖZSU

2018 Lifetime Achievement Award in Computer Science from CS-Can/Info-Can

DANIEL VOGEL

2018 Outstanding Young Computer Science Researcher Award from CS-Can/Info-Can

ROBIN COHEN

2019 Distinguished Teacher Award

PASCAL POUPART

2019 Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR) Al Chair

KATE LARSON

Appointed University Research Chair

ADVAIT MAYBHATE

Schulich Leader Scholarship

KATHERINE GOTOVSKY

2018 Loran Scholar

JOEY YU

Gold Medal at 2018 International Olympiad in Informatics

KEVIN HYUN

2019 Jessie W.H. Zou Memorial Award

DANIEL VOGEL

2018 Faculty of Mathematics Golden Jubilee Research Excellence Award

CHRISTOPHER BATTY, DANIEL BROWN, JESSE HOEY, LILA KARI, LAP CHI LAU, JIMMY LIN, DAVID TOMPKINS

2018 Outstanding Performance Award

AMIR-HOSSEIN KARIMI

Alumni Gold Medal for Outstanding Academic Performance in a Master's Program

JOAKIM BLIKSTAD, SEAN PURCELL, JASON YUEN

1st place at 2018 East Central North America Regional Programming Contest; represented the University of Waterloo at World Finals

TIMOTHY LI, ANZO TEH, REYNO TILIKAYEN

2nd place at 2018 ICPC East Central North America Regional Programming Contest

ALBERT GEVORGYAN, JOSH JUNG, JOEY YU

3rd place at 2018 East Central North America Regional Programming Contest

FELIX BAUCKHOLT, PETER RALBOVSKY, KAI SUN

4th place at 2018 East Central North America Regional Programming Contest

SHAI BEN-DAVID, HASSAN ASHTIANI,

NICK HARVEY, CHRISTOPHER LIAW, ABBAS MEHRABIAN, YANIV PLAN Best Paper Award at NeurIPS 2018

JANUSZ (JOHN) BRZOZOWSKI, LILA KARI, BAI LI, MAREK SZYKUŁA

Sheng Yu Award at CIAA 2018

DALLAS FRASER, ANDREW KANE, FRANK TOMPA

Best Paper Award at DocEng 2018

IAN GOLDBERG

2018 Caspar Bowden Award for Outstanding Research in Privacy Enhancing Technologies (with Raphael R. Toledo and George Danezis)

JESSE HOEY, ROBERT FREELAND

2019 Outstanding Recent Contribution in Social Psychology Award

AAYUSH RAJASEKARAN, JEFFREY SHALLIT,

PARTHASARATHY MADHUSUDAN, DIRK NOWOTKA

EATCS Best Paper Award at MFCS 2018





SIDDHARTHA SAHU, AMINE MHEDHBI, SEMIH SALIHOGLU, JIMMY LIN, M. TAMER ÖZSU

VLDB 2018 Best Paper Award

MIKE SCHAEKERMANN, JOSLIN GOH, KATE LARSON, EDITH LAW

Best Paper Award at CSCW 18

NIK UNGER, IAN GOLDBERG

2018 Caspar Bowden Award for Outstanding Research in Privacy Enhancing Technologies, runner-up

YUHAO DONG, WOOJUNG KIM

Best Student Paper Award at Blockchain-2018 (with Raouf Boutaba)

JOSEPH HARALDSON

Distinguished Student Author Award at ISSAC 2018 (with Mark Giesbrecht and George Labahn)

MOHAMMAD MAZAHERI

1st place at ACM MobiCom 2018 Student Research Competition (with Ali Abedi and Omid Abari)

AHMED ALQURAAN

2019 Huawei Prize for Best Research Paper

NIK UNGER

2019 Huawei Prize for Best Research Paper

MICHAEL ABEBE

2018 Facebook Emerging Scholar Award

PRIYANK JAINI

2019 Borealis Al Graduate Fellowship

HEMANT SURALE

2019 Snap Research Fellowship

AMINE MHEDHBI & SIDDHARTHA SAHU / SAJIN SASY (tied)

1st place poster winners at 2018 Cheriton Research Symposium

NIK UNGER / LINGUAN YANG (tied)

2nd place poster winners at 2018 Cheriton Research Symposium

THOMAS LIDBETTER / XIN LIAN (tied)

3rd place poster winners at 2018 Cheriton Research Symposium

JONATHAN SMITH, ZI KAI CHEN

Among winning team of Waterloo students at CBC/Radio-Canada's 2019 Hackathon

AHMED SABIE

1st place in coding portion at fourth annual Code/Design to Win finals

DON COWAN

CANARIE Award to Support Surface Water Research

BIN MA

\$463k grant from Genome Canada to improve precision medicine; matching funds bring total funding to \$926k

DAN VOGEL

\$120k NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement to Develop Spatial Augmented Reality

REBECCA BROWN, BING XU HU, JASON WILLIAMSON

Inaugural Pasupalak Velocity CS Capstone Award

JOHN HARRIS

3rd place at Velocity Graduate Student Fund Finals

RINA WEHBE

Video selected as one of 40 entries in NSERC's *Science, Action!* video contest