Information for


Monday, January 15, 2018

Empowering girls by inspiring them to code in a fun and friendly female environment

Women were there in the beginning.

Women were the first computers — the people who performed complex mathematical calculations with pencil and chalk — and later, as the field of computer science emerged, they were the first programmers.

Tuesday, January 9, 2018

How blockchain can democratize green power

Professor Srinivasan Keshav recently wrote an article for ​The Conversation Canada about how blockchain technologies could help homeowners sell their green electricity to their neighbours. 

Monday, December 18, 2017

IEEE elevates Professor Srinivasan Keshav to grade of Senior Member

Professor Srinivasan Keshav has been elevated to the grade of Senior Member by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, an honour bestowed to IEEE members who have made significant contributions to the profession.

Saturday, December 16, 2017

Net neutrality: What is it and should Canadians be concerned?

Last Thursday, the U.S. Federal Communications Commission repealed net neutrality, the protections the Obama administration put in place on the Internet two years ago. For those that live in the United States, this decision would allow Internet service providers to block or throttle access to content and services, ending a long-time principle that all web traffic must be treated equally.

What does the repeal of net neutrality mean for Canadians? Unlike the United States, Canada has strong protections for net neutrality and support for the rules enjoy broad political support.  

Friday, December 1, 2017

Professor Raouf Boutaba, postdocs, graduate students and international colleagues win best paper award at CNSM 2017

Professor Raouf Boutaba, PhD students Shihabur Rahman Chowdhury and Nashid Shahriar, postdoctoral fellows Sara Ayoubi and Reaz Ahmed and colleagues Jeebak Mitra and Liu Liu from Huawei Technologies received the best paper award at the 13th International Conference on Network and Service Management for their paper titled “MULE: Multi-Layer Virtual Network Embedding.”

The prestigious recognition consists of a certificate and a €500 award.

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Professor Jeff Orchard and Louis Castricato win best paper award at ICONIP 2017

Professor Jeff Orchard and third-year undergraduate computer science student Louis Castricato received a best paper award at the 24th International Conference on Neural Informational Processing (ICONIP 2017) for their paper titled “Combating adversarial inputs using a predictive-estimator network.”

Monday, November 20, 2017

Professor Tamer Özsu named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

M. Tamer Özsu, a professor in the David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science and a founding member of its Data Systems group, has studied database systems for decades. In fact, his fascination with computer systems that allow users to organize, extract and analyze data began before formal database systems existed.

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

ACM recognizes Professor Troy Vasiga as a 2017 Senior Member

The Association for Computing Machinery has named David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science Professor Troy Vasiga an ACM Senior Member. Initiated in 2006, the ACM Senior Member program recognizes individuals with at least 10 years of professional experience in the Association who have demonstrated performance through technical leadership, and technical or professional contributions.

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Waterloo teams take top spots at CAN-CWiC programming challenge

Teams of programmers from the University of Waterloo took the top spots at the 2017 Canadian Celebration of Women in Computing conference’s programming challenge. The contest began with an online qualifying round held over October 6 to 8, 2017, in which 345 teams registered, of which 71 were official teams of female students from a Canadian university.

Thursday, November 9, 2017

ACM recognizes Professors Ian Goldberg and Ken Salem as 2017 Distinguished Members

The Association for Computing Machinery has named David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science Professors Ian Goldberg and Ken Salem among 43 new ACM Distinguished Members globally for their outstanding scientific contributions to computing.

The 2017 Distinguished Members are responsible for an extraordinary array of achievements, reflecting many distinct areas of research and practice in the field of computing and information technology.