11 March 2002

The Ad-Hoc Committee on Faculty and CS Governance was struck by the Dean of Mathematics in fall 2001 to address the proposal to change Math Faculty Governance structures as detailed in the CS Governance report. Recently, our work was given added impetus by the realization that elections for Faculty committee positions are normally held in March. Since the changes to the Math Faculty Constitution and Bylaws on which we have been working will alter the number and type of contests for such positions, we thought it best to release an interim set of changes to be approved by Math Faculty Council, so as not to invalidate recently-held elections. We would like to stress that the committee agrees unanimously on these changes and that they are unlikely to be superseded by new changes when we complete our work, but we would also like to stress that our work is not complete. We have not finished discussing possible changes to Math Faculty Council and the Executive Committee which would potentially have a much greater impact on Faculty governance than what we present now. Those changes will be presented in a timely fashion.

The three attachments to this document below are on the Web at http://www.cs.uwaterloo.ca/admin/gov/.

- The Bylaws of the Faculty of Mathematics as they exist now;
- The new versions of the Bylaws that we propose;
- The new versions of the Bylaws, shown as a series of edits to the old version, with change bars, underlines to indicate additions, and overstrikes to indicate deletions.

Brian Forrest (chair)
David Matthews
Ray McLenaghan
Prabhakar Ragde
David Taylor
David Wagner